Right Or Wrong?: Pastor Marvin Winans Refuses To Bless Children Of Un-Wed Mothers

Pastor Winans

Marvin Winans from the popular Winan’s family of gospel singers made a controversial move recently when he decided that he would not bless a child of an un-wed mother.

Charity Grace, (What a name) is single mom and Detroit native who was planning to have her son Joshua blessed at a dedication ceremony at the Perfecting Church but was turned away.

When she called the church to see why she was denied, she was told by a church representative that Pastor Winans doesn’t bless babies to unwed mothers in front of the congregation. Grace explained,

“I want to instill values and morals in my son based upon the word of God. I told them I was not married and that’s where everything just broke loose.I’ve never felt so degraded and disrespected in my life. What they could do for me is let my son get dedicated, during a week day with one of the elders of my choice. I absolutely would not set foot back in the church right now because I feel like they look down upon me and my kind, meaning single moms and unwed mothers. The church should be the last place you should go to be judged and denied.”

Does she have a point? While you have to applaud Winans and his church for standing strong on what they believe, but if he is going to do that, then he’d had to stay strong across the board. How many single mothers attend and tithe at his church weekly? How many people who attend his church weekly live what he would consider “un-conventional lifestyles?”

What he did was create a slippery slope. His stance can’t just be for one person. He’s going to have to take that stand across the board, even if it means emptying the pews.

Source: The Jasmine Brand

Leave a Reply

