Atlanta To Host Nobel Peace Prize Winners In 2015 (Photo)


Atlanta will host the 2015 gathering of the Nobel Peace Laureates, marking only the second time the summit will have been held in the United States.

More than 2,000 official delegates are expected to attend the summit, including Nobel Laureates President Barack Obama, former Soviet President Mikhail Gorbachev, W. De Klerk, Lech Walesa, Oscar Arias Sanchez, Shimon Peres and Henry Kissinger.

The winner of the 2013 Nobel Peace Prize was announced early Friday. The Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons was recognized for “extensive efforts to eliminate chemical weapons.”


Representatives of organizations that have received prizes will attend the Atlanta gathering, Saporta writes. The organizations include: Doctors Without Borders, Amnesty International and Intergovernmental Panel on Climate.

Nobel Peace Prize

Atlanta Mayor Kasim Reed said the summit is one of the “most important wins the city has had since I’ve been mayor because it is going to put the city of Atlanta in the heart of the international stage, and it’s going to continue to strengthen the recognition of Atlanta as one of the leading cities in the world.”

Source: 11alive


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s